RELIEF DRIVER GUIDELINES 7572
(Revised 1996)

The task of wildland fire suppression can be long and arduous. Emergency incident
managers must keep in mind that wildfires seldom occur under favorable conditions.
Firefighters must, by necessity be on duty long hours with few opportunities for rest or
nourishment.

In the interest of fire crew safety, and according to state law, when the operator of a CDF
vehicle is unable to safely operate his/her vehicle due to iliness or fatigue, arelief driver
must be provided. This necessity for relief drivers needs to be recognized and the proper
personnel ordered well in advance of the actual need. As a general rule, a relief driver will
be needed whenever a fire crew captain's work shift exceeds 16 hours and the captain
cannot reach an incident base camp, mobilization center or home camp within 2 hours.
Fire crew captains should not continue to drive a crew carrying vehicle (CCU) after 18
hours of work time.

QUALIFIED RELIEF DRIVERS 7572.1
(Revised 1996)

In order to meet the operational needs for relief drivers, each unit should have

several qualified relief drivers listed in its Emergency Resources Directory (ERD).
Qualified relief drivers can come from several sources; retired fire crew captains, school
bus drivers from rural districts, or other persons that are employed in the transportation
industry.

Relief drivers must meet the same licensing requirements as permanent CDF personnel.
Quialified relief drivers must have a valid California commercial drivers license with
passenger and air brake endorsements. They also must have in their possession a current
medical certificate.

PULL NOTICES 7572.2
(Revised 1996)

California law requires employers to obtain the driving records of all personnel who have
commercial driving licenses. Employers are to note any violations for driving under the
influence (DUI) of any controlled substance, serious accident, or other indiscretions. These
notices should be at conservation camps for crew captains and at unit headquarters

for all other employees. Each qualified driver must have been given a check ride to
demonstrate his/her proficiency in each type of vehicle he/she might be required to drive.

HIRING GUIDES 7572.3
(Revised 1996)



Preseason

A. Contact previously used relief drivers.
1. Schedule date and time to:
a. verify license status, license number, and date of birth;
b. verify medical certificate status;
C. give required annual check ride;
d. update contact phone numbers and address; and

e. complete FC-100 if needed.

2. Request driving record information from DMV.
3. Update local Emergency Resource Directory.
B. Contact potential relief driver candidates.

1. Schedule date and time to:
a. verify license status--obtain license number and date of birth;
b. verify medical certificate status;
C. update contact phone numbers and address;
d. give required check ride; and

e. complete FC-100 if needed.
2. Request driving record information from DMV.

3. Update local Emergency Resource Directory (ERD)

On Incident
A. Request relief drivers as listed in local ERD:
1. On arrival verify current license and medical certificate.

2. Verify FC-100 on file if needed.



3. Begin FC-42 process.

B. New hire relief drivers:
1. Verify license status--obtain license number and date of birth.
2. Verify medical certificate.

3. Check ride given by (FEM or Equip Manager).

4. FC-100 completed if needed.

5. FC-42 process started.

6. Obtain driving record information as soon as possible.
LOG BOOKS 7572.4
(Revised 1996)
The law also requires a daily record (log book) be kept for each driver's hours to ensure
compliance with the on-duty/driver hours requirements. Vehicles leaving and returning to
the same location within 12 consecutive hours and operating within 100 miles of home
terminal do not require arecord or log, but must maintain documentation of:

Total days worked.

On duty hours.

Time of reporting on and off each day (to be monitored for six (6) months).
Any tour of duty that could reasonably be expected to excess 12 consecutive hours or 100
miles must have log book. In most cases where a relief driver is needed, aLog Book is

needed. Shift tickets will not meet this requirement since the type of information required is
different.

FORMS AND/OR FORMS SAMPLES: RETURN TO ISSUANCE HOME PAGE FOR
FORMS/FORMS SAMPLES SITE LINK.
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