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(No. 16  June 2001) 
 
MINIMUM QUALIFICATIONS 
 
License and Education:  Possession of a valid California driver's license of the appropriate class issued by the Department of Motor 
Vehicles.  Applicants who do not possess the license will be admitted to the examination but must secure the license prior to 
appointment. 
 
and 
 
Experience:  Three years of permanent full-time experience in California state service performing the duties of a Fire Apparatus 
Engineer or Fire Apparatus Engineer (Paramedic) and successful completion of the corresponding California Firefighter Joint 
Apprenticeship Committee Program.  (Applicants who are within six months of satisfying the experience requirement will be admitted to 
the exam but must successfully complete the apprenticeship program before appointment.);  
 
or 
 
Three years of permanent full-time experience in the California state service performing the duties of a Fire Apparatus Engineer with an 
appointment to the class prior to the initiation of the California Firefighter Joint Apprenticeship Committee Program on July 1, 1983;  
 
or 
 
Applicants who gained employment with the California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection by Board Resolution may compete if 
they have three years of permanent full-time experience as a Fire Apparatus Engineer or Fire Apparatus Engineer (Paramedic) but 
must successfully complete the apprenticeship program before appointment or receive SubJAC certification of journey level status.  
[Experience with the California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection may be combined with prior Fire Apparatus Engineer or Fire 
Apparatus Engineer (Paramedic) experience to meet this requirement.]  (Applicants who are within six months of satisfying the 
experience requirement will be admitted to the exam but must successfully complete the apprenticeship program before appointment or 
receive SubJAC certification of journey level status.) 
  



INDIVIDUAL PROFESSIONAL TRAINING - FIRE CAPTAIN 
Course Participant Time Frames Prerequisites Notes 

Title Hours Level When Requirement Frequency   

 
JOB REQUIRED 

Job Required Within First Year - Fire Captain 

First Responder Medical - 
CDF 

46 Unit Prior to response CDF Policy 24 hours every 2 
years 

Public Safety - 
CPR 

 

Sudden Infant 
Death Syndrome 

[1] Unit Within basic 
training 

Mandated –  
H&S 1797.192 SB 1068 

One time training None  

Elderly Abuse W&I 
15630 

[1] Unit Entry Mandated - W&I 15632 One time training None  

Communicable Disease 
Awareness 

4 Unit Within first year 
of employment 

Mandated –  
CLC 5193(3) (5)  
CFR 1910.1030 

Annual - 1 hour 
(min) 

None  

Public Safety CPR - CDF 8 Unit Prior to response Mandated - H.S. Code, 
CCR Title 22 

4 hours every 2 
years 

None  

Substance Abuse ID 2 Region/Unit Within first year Department of 
Transportation 

One time training None  

EEO/Workplace Free of 
Discrimination/Sexual 
Harassment 

8 Academy, 
Unit 

8 hrs during 
initial year of 
employment 

CDF Policy Mandated 4 hours every 2 
years thereafter 

None (*) 

I-300 Intermediate ICS 27 Region/ 
Unit 

Within first year Mandated –  
SB 1841,SEMS 

One time training I-200 (*) 

Hazardous Materials First 
Responder-Operational 

24 Unit within one year 
of hire 

OSHA requirements 
under 29 CFR 1910.120 
and the CCR Title 8, 
Section 5192. All Haz 
Mat responders (i.e. fire, 
law enforcement, health 
& private industry) must 
have at least this level of 
training. 

8 Hours annually None  

Self Contained Breathing 
Apparatus 

3 Unit/Station Prior to response Mandated –  
Title 8 3401 (b) (1) 

Annual Evaluation None  

122 Total Hours Job Required Within First Year - Fire Captain 



Course Participant Time Frames Prerequisites Notes 

Title Hours Location When Requirement Frequency   

 
 
Job Required - Fire Captain 

Leadership Development 40 Academy  CDF Policy One time training None (*) 
(1) 

40 Total Hours Job Required  - Fire Captain 
 
Job Required Within Fourth Year - Fire Captain 

Defensive Drivers Training 4 Unit Within first 4 
years 

SAM - Required for 
frequent operation of any 
vehicle on state business 

4 hours every 4 
years 

California 
Driver's License 

 

4.00 Total Hours Job Required Within Fourth Year - Fire Captain 
 
 

JOB ENHANCEMENT 

Management 
Development 

40 CDF 
Academy/ 
Unit 

   Leadership 
Development 

(2) 

Incident Management 3 - 
CDF 

40 CDF 
Academy/ 
Unit 

   Basic Engine 
Operation- 
(BFEO) or Basic 
Fire Control- 
Firefighter 
Module; 
Intermediate 
Wildland Fire 
Behavior 
(S-290) or an 
agency 
equivalent 
course, Basic 
ICS (I-220/200), 
Incident 
Management 2. 

 



Course Participant Time Frames Prerequisites Notes 

Title Hours Location When Requirement Frequency   

 

 
Hazardous Materials 
Incident Commander 

36 Region/Unit   Annual - 8 hours None  

S-234 Firing Methods and 
Procedures - NWCG 

24 Unit    Basic Engine 
Operation- 
(BFEO) or Basic 
Fire Control- 
Firefighter 
Module; 
Intermediate 
Wildland Fire 
Behavior  
(S-290) or an 
agency 
equivalent 
course; Incident 
Management 1 

 

Fire Officer Certification - 
CFSTES 

320 Community 
College 

    (3) 

S-390 Introduction to 
Wildland Fire Behavior 
Calculations - NWCG 

16 Region/Unit    Basic Engine 
Operation- 
(BFEO) or Basic 
Fire Control- 
Firefighter 
Module; 
Intermediate 
Wildland Fire 
Behavior 
(S-290) or an 
agency 
equivalent 
course (it is 
recommended 
the student has 
attended IFB in 
the last three 
years) 

 

476.00 Total Hours Job Enhancement Training 
 

 



Course Participant Time Frames Prerequisites Notes 

Title Hours Location When Requirement Frequency   

 
 

CAREER DEVELOPMENT 

S-490 Advanced Wildland 
Fire Behavior Calculations 

40 CDF 
Academy/ 
Unit 

   Basic Engine 
Operation 
(BFEO) or Basic 
Fire Control- 
Firefighter 
Module; 
Intermediate 
Wildland Fire 
Behavior 
(S-290) or an 
agency 
equivalent 
course, 
Introduction to 
Wildland Fire 
Behavior 
Calculations 
(S-390) and 
BEHAVE 
program training 

 

Open Learning Fire Service 
Program - NFA 

Various 
Courses 

National 
Fire 
Academy 

     

Chief Officer Certification - 
CSFM 

400 CFA/CSFM    Community 
College Degree 

(4) 

 

NOTES: (*) 
(1) 
(2) 
(3) 
(4) 
(----) 
 

= New Department Policy 
Replaces Supervision 3 
Part of CDF Chief Officer College, replaces Supervision 4 
= 8 Courses 
= 10 courses 
= Subject Area Taught in the Course Listed Above 
 

Fire Officer Certification 
- Fire Instructor 1A 
- Fire Investigation 1A 
- Fire Prevention 1B 
- Fire Command 1A 

 
- Fire Instructor 1B 
- Fire Prevention 1A 
- Fire Management 1 
- Fire Command 1B 

 
(see Next Section) 
 
(see HB Table of Contents) 
 
(see Forms and Form Samples) 

http://calfireweb.fire.ca.gov/library/handbooks/4000/4021.pdf
http://calfireweb.fire.ca.gov/library/#handbooks-4000
http://calfireweb.fire.ca.gov/library/#forms

